Topics Map > Software > OneDrive

OneDrive - Overview

This document will provide an overview of OneDrive.

OneDriveIcon.jpg

OneDrive is automatically configured on Charger Tech 360 laptops to automatically backup and sync any files you have saved in your Desktop, Documents, or Pictures folders. Optionally, staff can sign in to OneDrive on their computer. Your account has 1TB of storage space.

Introduction to Microsoft OneDrive


Accessing OneDrive

OneDrive is automatically configured on Charger Tech 360 laptops to be logged in automatically. Optionally, staff can sign in to OneDrive on their computer. You can access your files through the desktop or online through the Microsoft Office website. Any files stored in your Desktop, Documents, or Pictures folder will be automatically synced with OneDrive. If you need to access files in any of those three folders you can work with them directly in those files instead of going through the OneDrive folder.

Desktop

Open File Explorer and select "OneDrive - swtc.edu" in the navigation pane.

OneDriveFileExplorer.png

Alternatively, in the taskbar in the bottom right corner of your screen, click the OneDrive Icon and then select "Open Folder".

OneDriveMenu.png


Online

  1. Visit https://office.com
  2. Sign in with your Southwest Tech NetID
  3. Select the "OneDrive" icon on the left side of the screen.OneDriveIcon.jpg

    OneDriveOnline.png

OneDrive Icons (Desktop)

File synced with OneDrive will have one of the icons below next to it.

BlueCloudIcon.pngOnline File/Folder
A blue cloud icon next to your OneDrive files or folders indicates that the file is only available online. Online-only files don’t take up space on your computer. Files will be downloaded automatically when you open them.

You can’t open online-only files when your device isn’t connected to the Internet.
BlueCloudIconwithPeople.pngShared File/FolderIf you see a "people" icon next to your OneDrive files or folders, this indicates the file or folder has been shared with other people.
GreenTickIcon.pngLocal File/FolderWhen you open an online-only file (blue cloud icon), it downloads to your device and becomes a locally available file. You can open a locally available file anytime, even without Internet access.

If you need more space, you can change the file back to online only. Just right-click the file and select “Free up space.”
SolidGreenIcon.pngAlways Local FileFiles that you mark as "Always keep on this device" have a green circle with the white checkmark.

These always available files download to your device and take up space, but they’re always there for you even when you’re offline.


Sharing and Removing Shared File/Folder

Sharing File/Folder

  1. Navigate to the file or folder you would like to share either from your Desktop or online through https://office.com

  2. Right-click on the file and select "Share". Alternatively, if using the online version you can select the item and then select "Share" in the toolbar at the top of the page.

    OneDriveDesktopShare00.png

    Desktop

    OneDriveOnlineShare01.png

    Online


  3. Select "Anyone with the link can edit" to customize the link options.

    OneDriveDesktopShare01.png

  4. Adjust the settings to your desired level.

    OneDriveDesktopShare02.png

    Anyone who gets the link can view or edit the item, depending on the permission you set. Users with the link cannot upload new items. Keep in mind that the link can also be forwarded and sign-in is not required.

    When you get to the share window you will have multiple options you can set when sharing.

    Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded it from someone else. This may include people outside of your organization.

    People in <Your Organization> - gives anyone in your organization who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    People with existing access - can be used by people who already have access to the document or folder. It does not change the permissions on the item. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access.

    Specific people - gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

    Allow editing - When you share items with this type of link, people can edit files, can add files in a shared folder, and can delete files in a shared folder if they're signed in. Recipients can forward the link, change the list of people sharing the files or folder, and change permissions for recipients. If you're sharing a folder, people with Edit permissions can copy, move, edit, rename, share, and delete anything in the folder.

    By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box. This can be further restricted by selecting the option to Block download, which means they cannot save a local copy. For Word files, you can also select Open in review mode only to limit people from leaving comments and making suggestions in the file. Note that if someone already has editing permissions for the item, selecting Open in review mode only will not prevent them from making edits. For them, the document will open in edit mode.

  5. Once all your sharing settings are set select "Apply".

  6. Select "Copy Link" to get a link that can be shared.

    OneDriveDesktopShare04.png


Removing Shared File/Folder

  1. Navigate to the file or folder you would like to share either from your Desktop or online through https://office.com

  2. Right-click on the file and select "Share". Alternatively, if using the online version you can select the item and then select "Share" in the toolbar at the top of the page.

    OneDriveDesktopShare00.png

    Desktop

    OneDriveOnlineShare01.png

    Online


  3. Select "..." in the top right and then select "Manage Access".

    RemoveShare01.png

  4. Select "..." next to the link. You may have multiple shared links if you shared them multiple times. Follow these steps for each link if you want them all removed.

    RemoveShare02.png

  5. Click "X" to remove the share.

    RemoveShare03.png

  6. Click "Delete link" to confirm.

    RemoveShare04.png

  7. You will be brought back to the share screen where you can verify no links have access given.

    RemoveShare05.png

Restoring Deleted Items or Revisions

Restoring Deleted Items

  1. Open OneDrive online through https://office.com

  2. On the navigation pane on the left, select "Recycle Bin".

    OneDriveRestoreDeleted01.png

  3. Select your file(s) and then select "Restore".

    OneDriveRestoreDeleted02.png

  4. Your file(s) will be restored to its original location.


Restoring Old Revisions

  1. Navigate to the file you would like to restore an older version of either from your Desktop or online through https://office.com

  2. Desktop: Right-click on the file and select "Version History".
    Online: Click the three-dot menu "..." and select "Version History".

    OneDriveDesktopRestore01.pngDesktop

    OneDriveOnlineRestore01.pngOnline

  3. Find the version you would like to restore. Click the three-dot menu "..." and select "Restore".

    OneDriveDesktopRestore02.pngDesktop
    OneDriveOnlineRestore02.pngOnline

  4. Your file will be restored to its original location.




Keywords:files data backup sync   Doc ID:107683
Owner:Jake W.Group:Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
Created:2020-12-08 14:37 CDTUpdated:2021-10-08 08:39 CDT
Sites:Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
Feedback:  0   0